self-ish to self-less

selfish
ˈsɛlfɪʃ/
adjective
  1. (of a person, action, or motive) lacking consideration for other people; concerned chiefly with one’s own personal profit or pleasure.

TO

selfless
ˈsɛlfləs/
adjective
  1. concerned more with the needs and wishes of others than with one’s own; unselfish.

I consider myself caring and considerate for others, until recently. I was told that when I travel I am being  selfish. The word struck me a little at first, but then I realized what it meant. Yes, I was being selfish, travelling for myself, discovering myself, taking time to explore myself but I was not doing it at anyone’s expense(physically, emotionally, monetarily). The people around me support me and want me to travel.

Each person has their own dreams and aspirations in life. My dream and wish is to travel, and serve in every way possible. I want to work with the community and learn about their needs, their culture, their history, and the hopes they have for their own future. I want to work with people and give back to any community that I live in.

 

I want to be selfless. I want to put others needs before mine. I want to give people unconditional love and support. I want to eliminate greed and selfishness from within me. All of this is so I can humbly serve the people and community around. .

Therefore, I may be selfish now, but I hope that through this experience I can learn to be selfless.

The experiences here (in one short month so far) have taught me so much and I hope to continue to grow and learn.

I pray that God give me strength to serve the people and show me how to be humble and grateful for all my blessings

To read more about my service work with the Victorian Immigrant and Refugee Women’s Coalition, look out for my blog posts! To get updates, follow my WordPress account to get notifications when a new post has been made. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

